Family of N

Birdwatching

Posted in Uncategorized by Laura on March 19, 2010

Today I went with the Professor and Savannah to a local park to celebrate the good weather, and after spending a requisite ten minutes letting Savannah explore the playground, we set off away from the crowds to try out the trails. This park has some very nice wooded trails, but even before we quite got to the wooded area, we encountered our most exciting find:

Can you tell why we were so excited to see her? She was reluctant to leave her “spot” and was jerking around nervously — because among those grey rocks she has found a lovely hiding place for her eggs. When we got home we looked her up in a field guide, we learned that her species often lead predators away from their nests, pretending to have a broken wing. I think she was preparing to do just that while we were watching her.

I’ll give you a couple days to figure out what species she was before I post her name. Can you guess? We live in the Midatalantic region.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alan said, on March 19, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    I know but I’m not telling 😉 I cheated. Google is your friend.

  2. Harmony said, on March 19, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Got it. (highlight for answer: Killdeer) So does this count for my bird watching project? This bird happens to be on my list. Or do I actually need to see it in my area? Hmmmm, decisions, decisions….

    • Harmony said, on March 19, 2010 at 4:54 pm

      Grr, html ought to work first time – I put a spoiler tag on there! How do I delete the comment?

      • Laura said, on March 19, 2010 at 8:07 pm

        Should be fixed… let me know if you can still see it.

  3. Harmony said, on March 20, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Thanks, La. What did I do wrong? I want to avoid this in the future…

  4. Laura said, on March 20, 2010 at 11:42 am

    You may not have done anything wrong… as a blog administrator I was able to ad HTML, but I don’t know that commenters can.

  5. Mama Bird « Family of N said, on March 21, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    […] Posted in Uncategorized by Laura on March 21, 2010 On Friday I shared a picture of a Mama bird we saw guarding her nest as we walked around a park by our home. Did any of you […]


Leave a Reply

