Family of N

Books Read January – February

Posted in Education, Just for Fun by Laura on March 1, 2010

On the Banks of Plum Creek
Honey for a Child’s Heart (just the first half, which reads like a book — the rest is for reference)
A Bear Called Paddington
Farmer Boy
The Bears on Hemlock Mountain
The Courage of Sarah Noble

I was surprised to find that I much preferred “Hemlock Mountain” to Dalgliesh’s more popular, award-winning “Sarah Noble.” The latter did have a lovely story, but it seemed to flit from scene to scene too quickly and without much description, so that by the end of it I felt like I had missed most of the story, as if I had read only one sentence from every paragraph. In “Hemlock Mountain,” Dalgliesh only sets out to describe one or two days’ happenings, and as a result this story is a much more satisfying read.

Farmer Boy was a fun one for me… at first I didn’t think I liked it as much as the other Little House books I’d read, but now I would almost say it’s my favorite. I still chuckle about how hungry that book made me, though. I think there is one chapter in the entire book that lacks some description of Almonzo eating — and most of them rather dwell on his gnawing hunger and describe every succulent dish set before him.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Harmony said, on March 1, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Farmer Boy is my favorite, although all the Little House books are excellent.

    I have a stack of books that need reading, but I no longer have a lamp by the bed. I have no idea how I’m going to get reading in anymore. :-/


Leave a Reply

