Family of N

Books Read 2009

Posted in Homeschooling, Just for Fun by Laura on December 31, 2009

I’ve not been much of a reader since sometime around middle school, but I’m trying to start back… with children’s books. Please don’t laugh. I think of it like Debt Snowballing. I’m a slow reader, and it’s encouraging to finish a book every now and then.

It’s with a little embarrassment that I share my humble list for this year. I know for many people this would be a month’s worth of reading. I think I actually read all of these in the last six months, but I’m well aware that that’s still not very impressive.

  • Mr. Popper’s Penguins
  • The Hundred Dresses
  • Little House in the Big Woods
  • Understood Betsy
  • Fahrenheit 451
  • Little House on the Prairie

All I can say is, I’ve had to fight to find the time to read even this many! Savannah is so taken with books that we have had to turn her bookshelf to face the wall, because she used to make a beeline for it any time the door to her room was open, and would proceed to unload the shelves if she got there before one of us did. She loves fanning through the pages of a real paper book, although we rarely give one to her because, um, pages get ripped out.

So needless to say, when I get a book out to read of my own accord, Savannah is soon at my side whining and reaching for the book — pointing at it, running her fingers over the pages, and ultimately gesturing that she wants to hold it. At this point, of course, the book goes away rather than into her hands, and I resign myself to trying another time.

So I’d say six is good progress.

And I continue to thank God that Savannah is our first child, rather than being at this can’t-be-trusted-near-books stage while we’re trying to homeschool another child.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Harmony said, on December 31, 2009 at 8:53 am

    A book a month is still more than many Americans read. I’m glad you’re getting back into it! 🙂 And I know you’re a slow reader… and I’ve never even read three of those books, ever. So good for you!

    I need to make my list at some point. I’m pretty sure I can remember all the books I read up until Pearl was born, but right now I can’t think of a single book I read before she was born! Oh well. A six-month list will be better than none, right? 🙂

  2. Harmony said, on December 31, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Er, that should be “I can remember all the books I read after Pearl was born,”


Leave a Reply

