Family of N

Menu Plan Monday

Posted in Uncategorized by Laura on March 23, 2009

Maybe I’m easing back into blogging, or maybe this is one of the last sputters as this car runs out of gas. I like blogging, but I’m increasingly short on time and ideas. Case and point: all I can muster right now is this a post about this week’s menu. What I *should* do is let you know how last week’s menu went. But I can’t remember what we made.

Monday: Chicken Fingers (marinate in olive oil, garlic, paprika; coat in bread or cracker crumbs; bake) with mashed potatoes and broccoli
Tuesday: Fried Rice with Mandoo (Korean dumplings)
Wednesday: Leftovers
Thursday: Greek Chicken Pita Sandwiches (marinade from here) with oven-fried potatoes. (I might even make tzatziki if I have time. But that might be a teeny bit ambitious. Because I’m making my own pita, too.)
Friday: Leftovers
Saturday: Leftovers, maybe Beef Stew if we need something

Enjoy! (I know I will — especially Greek night… yum….)

More menu plans at I’m an Organizing Junkie.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Harmony said, on March 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Mmm, the Greek pitas look fantastic. Actually, it all looks pretty good. I don’t feel like blogging about our “menu” this week, but I’ll go ahead and post it here for your sake. πŸ˜‰

    We have a jar of Thai red curry paste that has an expiration date of 4/3/09. It would be a true shame to let it go to waste, so we’re having a Thai red curry week. We have lots of leftover rice paper wrappers from the last time we made spring rolls and we will have plenty of leftover coconut milk from the curry (we need less than half of the can), so the curry will be supplemented with Vietnamese spring rolls and a half or maybe even a quarter recipe of Tom Ka Gai (Thai chicken-coconut soup). If that doesn’t last all week, well, I’ll figure something out. Maybe I’ll get up the nerve to try pad thai (we were $4 under budget for the week, and the only ingredient we’re missing for a basic pad thai is rice noodles).

    I’m finding that planning a week’s worth of meals in the same ethnicity makes for less waste. For example, I don’t know what I’d do with the extra coconut milk if I weren’t making all SE Asian meals this week. Likely half a can would go to waste. And all the dishes require fish sauce, so I’m not wasting $2 on 1 Tbs of fish sauce I use for one meal and won’t use again for 3 more months.

    It works great with Italian food, Korean food, Mexican food, and SE Asian food. So we just take a week-by-week trip around the globe, we get to try lots of exciting cuisines, and our food budget thanks us for it.

    Actually, after typing all that out, it might make a good blog post. Hmm… don’t be surprised if you see a *very* similar post pop up on our blog in the next day or two. πŸ˜‰

  2. Alan said, on March 24, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Oh, you have lots of things to blog about… All the latest news on the family member where N=3 πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

