Family of N

Mei Tai: No Hands, +2 Bonus

Posted in Parenting by Laura on March 3, 2009
Photo by The Professor

 
Yesterday I got two comments that I must be so strong carrying Savannah all morning in our babyhawk mei tai. I had to laugh — I’m a total weakling, but wearing her in the mei tai feels like wearing a light backpack.

I wasn’t surprised to learn that the women making the comments had only ever tried a Baby Bjorn. The Bjorn puts all the baby’s weight right on your shoulders, rather than distributing it across your back like a mei tai.

As long as I have the mei tai tied right, I have no back pain. If the waist strap (not visible in the picture) is too low, my lower back aches after 45 minutes or so.

If pictures are worth a thousand words, here are 30,000 words per second to show you what exactly a mei tai is (just a rectangular piece of fabric with four straps!) and how it is used:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Iris said, on March 3, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    That is a great picture! I had actually never heard of a mei tai before, but after watching the video, I think I would love it! 🙂

  2. Laura said, on March 4, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Thanks, Iris. 🙂 Out of habit, I gave myself credit for the photo, but it was actually the Professor who took it.

    I’m hoping to do more posts soon about babywearing and other kinds of carriers. As soon as the weather warms up, I’d like to try to make it to a local babywearing meeting to try on some different ones. And in just about a month, I plan on starting to carry Savannah on my back in the mei tai. Should be exciting!

  3. Sherry said, on March 5, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    This really helped me understand the difference between this and what I had (a Snuggli). Maybe this is why I didn’t use it much.


Leave a Reply

