Family of N

Music Appreciation Monday: Ravel

Posted in Uncategorized by Laura on February 16, 2009

This video being in black-and-white, its opening really reminds me of an old horror flick. I keep expecting to hear shrill screams as the camera pans out to show Frankenstein’s monster attacking a beautiful blonde as our hero (obviously, the violinist) rushes to her side to defend her.

But I can assure you that none of this happens. I hope enjoy this monster-free performance of Ravel’s Tzigane by Polish violinist Henryk Szeryng.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alan said, on February 17, 2009 at 7:57 am

    So, were you inspired to take out your violin?

  2. Laura said, on February 17, 2009 at 8:04 am

    The Professor has been getting out his violin fairly often in the last couple weeks (he’s working on learning some music from a video game he likes), and *that* has inspired me to get my violin out a lot more. Why, I must’ve played three times in the last two weeks! (That’s more than I did all year in 2008…)

    It would be a shame to give up the violin, as much as I’ve always loved playing it. Having a baby around has almost made it easier to want to play, because she seems to enjoy listening.

  3. Sherry said, on February 27, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    I enjoyed this piece and especially liked the piano accompaniment!

  4. Sherry said, on February 27, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I am also glad you and [the Professor] are getting out your violin. I am SURE Savannah enjoys it!


Leave a Reply

