Family of N

More of the Charlotte Mason/Classical Blend with Tenniel

Posted in Homeschooling by Laura on January 21, 2009

I first started reading homeschool blogs in 2005, at the end of my junior year in college. I thought I wanted to teach grade school students, and I started digging for blogs on educational topics. I found that the typical “edublog,” while interesting, focused mostly on the politics of education (tracking, charter schools, testing, etc). What I wanted was thoughts on the process of teaching from folks in the trenches.

Somehow, I stumbled onto a homeschooling blog and realized that this was where I would find teachers talking about the everyday adventures of teaching. I made my way to Tenniel’s blog, School@Home, and followed it for a couple of years. This is where I found my earliest homeschooling inspiration. She doesn’t blog as much now, but even if she never posted again, her archives are a fantastic resource.

I think I always assumed Tenniel was a unit studies homeschooler, but apparently, she’s a blend of Charlotte Mason* and Classical. (Aside from her accidental unit studies.) As a result, her homeschool looks a lot like I envision the Family of N Homeschool looking like.

Homeschool Methods
Homeschooling or Public School at Home?
Favorite Childrens’ Books
YouTube Schooling
Useful Websites for Homeschoolers

On her sidebar, she has links to her favorite lessons from each year. They have some fun ideas up there! I couldn’t possibly link them all here, but the whole list is a great resource for lesson planning. Creativity is a big advantage with homeschooling, but sometimes, stealing other people’s ideas is just as good. 😉

*Side note so Harmony can laugh at me: Everyone’s turning out to have some CM in them these days. I used to think Cindy was exclusively Classical. It was a while before it clicked that the Common Room family did CM. (Um, I know. I’m slow.) Next thing you know, Mungo (sorry, still Mungo in my mind… now he goes by Drew) is going to go CM on us. 😉

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Harmony said, on January 21, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Hahaha. (points and laughs)

    There. Did that live up to expectations? 😉

    Yeah, CM seems to be the way to go these days. All the cool bloggers are doing it. Seriously, though, I love that CM is so adaptable. Use her philosophy to teach, well, just about anything. That’s why School at Home, Dominion Family, and the Common Room seem on the surface to have such different homeschools, I guess.

    I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this before, but have you checked out Higher Up and Further In (http://higherupandfurtherin.blogspot.com/2009/01/bookshelf-organization.html). It’s another great CM blog.

  2. Laura said, on January 21, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Thanks for pointing to Higher Up and Further In. I think I’d heard of it before, but not sure I picked up on the fact that they’re CM. (Doh! It says so in their title bar, doesn’t it?)

    Glad you linked to that bookshelf organization post — looks like something I could use!


Leave a Reply

