Family of N

Real Question: What Would Jesus Do?

Posted in Health, Parenting by Laura on January 9, 2009

Maybe this is old news, but I’m shocked. At least one of the vaccines coming up soon on Savannah’s schedule is going to contain an ingredient that I can’t imagine injecting into her body.

What am I talking about?

Not thimerosal.

Not aluminum.

I’m talking about aborted fetal tissue.

Can this world get any more depraved?

What is a Christian mom to do? If I give Savannah a Rubella vaccine, it is going to contain cells from an aborted human life. I can’t stand the thought of that.

Our pediatrician tells us they can’t get us the MMR vaccines as three separate vaccines (the supply is really low, at least for the time being). So if we avoid Rubella, it probably means avoiding MMR altogether (because the combined MMR also contains cells harvested from unborn children). Neglecting to give her any MMR vaccine seems like a bad idea, but how could I knowingly use the vaccine to benefit my baby when it was created using the body of a murdered baby?

On the other hand, the vaccine did not cause or even influence the abortion. If the abortion was going to happen anyway, should I just say a prayer for the poor child whose life was lost before it began, and use the vaccine so there won’t be a second needless death?

What on earth is the Right Thing to do?

Updated 10:47 to give hat tip to Jess at Making Home.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alan said, on January 9, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Wow. I never knew that.

    I want Savannah to be protected from rubella. I know you do too. The baby that lost its life, if it could express its wishes, would probably also want that. But there are a lot of dirty hands in between.

  2. Harmony said, on January 9, 2009 at 10:02 am

    La, I don’t know what to do. That’s just awful, and I really doubt that most people know about it or there would be a much louder outcry. How did you hear about it, and are you *absolutely certain* it’s not a myth? (I’m sure you’re right, but I’m still a bit in denial here….)

  3. Harmony said, on January 9, 2009 at 10:06 am

    From the Washington Post, via Snopes forums:

    “In weighing how to handle the issue, Georgetown looked to the debate of a decade ago, when many Catholics became aware that cells from an aborted fetus were used to originate cultures used to manufacture chicken pox vaccine and measles-mumps-rubella vaccine. Since then, a measles-mumps-rubella vaccine has been developed without cells from an aborted fetus, but the chicken pox vaccine is still made with the same cell line.”

    Georgetown is a Catholic university, so IF this article is accurate, there is probably an MMR vaccine out there that is ‘safe’. It might have other questionable things in it, but honestly I’d rather put thermerisol into my baby than a dead baby. 😦

  4. Laura said, on January 9, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Harmony, I’d love to find out it’s a myth, too. I edited the post to point to the site I heard it from, which gives another reference: Informed Choice.

    Harmony said: “I’d rather put thermerisol into my baby than a dead baby.” That was my first thought, too, but the more I think about this, the more complicated the ethics seem to me. Are we as repulsed when a baby gets an organ transplant? Where else could the organ have come from but from a dead baby? (Unless it’s something like a kidney.) Don’t we even pray that an organ will “become available”? Does it matter to us how the baby died, at least as far as whether or not we feel at peace with accepting the organ donation? Somehow if Savannah instead needed an organ donation, I think it would be easier for me to think that “the baby that lost its life… would probably also want” my baby’s life saved.

    Maybe it’s because abortion is thought of so lightly in our culture. I feel like I can’t overlook it in this situation, whereas it would be obvious in accepting an organ donation that I’m not comfortable with the organ donor’s death.

    Thank you for the reference to the alternative vaccine research. We have a little while before MMR comes up, so I will try to hunt this down if I can. In the meantime, Polio is coming very soon, and I want to make sure Savannah gets one of the ones not derived from aborted fetal tissue.

    Anyway, if this is all true, it really needs to be publicized more. Some recent articles I dug up talk about a coast guard member who ran into some trouble for refusing a flu vaccine that contained the aborted fetal tissue. Maybe this will come on more people’s radar as time goes on…


Leave a Reply

