Family of N

Morning Time with Cindy

Posted in Homeschooling by Laura on December 17, 2008

I’ve been remiss in posting homeschooling links, but I promise, I have several in the queue! It’s just taking me longer than expected to get them post-worthy.

These next few Links for Lena posts will be profiles of homeschooling bloggers who have inspired me. I’ll highlight a few favorite posts, but in general I’ll only be skimming the surface of what their blogs have to offer. These ladies have so much wisdom and so many great tips and ideas. I encourage you to dig through their archives to find things of particular interest to you.

Unlike other posts where I link to booklists or descriptions of homeschooling techniques, though, much of what they say is subjective. It will be helpful as you read them to remember that even if you can’t do the things they suggest, you can still have a successful homeschool. No one, not even these blogging moms who seem to do so much, is doing everything.


Cindy is a Charlotte Mason/Classical educator in Alabama. I think my homeschool is likely to be very similar to hers, although presumably with fewer pupils. She implements something that she calls “Morning TIme,” Ā a time where she gathers all of her children every day to they spend some time learning as a group — things like art, music, Shakespeare, Plutarch, Bible (including scripture memory), Hymns (to be memorized), Poetry, other memory work, and read-alouds.

It may sound intimidating, but from reading her blog, I don’t think it’s a lot of work for her. The memorization is achieved by repeating daily over a long period of time (weeks?), and the rest she is just exposing her kids to without much in the way of lesson plans. She describes this as something that makes her life easier rather than harder.

Her post on memory tips gives a good picture of what she’s doing, but really I’d recommend all of her Morning TIme posts. šŸ™‚

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Harmony said, on December 17, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    I have often thought I might join her morning time group (yahoo or google groups?) when I get to that point.

  2. Laura said, on December 18, 2008 at 11:26 am

    I joined the group recently (it’s yahoo) hoping I could discipline myself to do a basic morning time with Savannah — a Psalm, a hymn, and a poem. I haven’t done well so far, but maybe it’ll make a good New Year’s resolution!

    It’s cool to hear the discussions of what other people are doing. The archives are going to make a great resource one day when we have more room on our bookshelves. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

